Vermont Part I

View of Camels Hump from Richmond, VT

View of Camels Hump from Richmond, VT

My week in Vermont could not have been a better way to begin my trip, but it did not come without its hurdles. For instance during a lunch break while I was climbing the Green Mountains my jar of jam slipped off my trailer and spilled about 3/4 of its contents. I was very disgruntled, but let’s face it; you know life is good when the only problem you have is that you’re down 3/4 of a jar of raspberry jam.

Riding with the trailer was something I had not done for a year, and it was a mistake to take almost two weeks of food with me, but the weight just made me stronger. After stopping for a creme (soft serve ice cream) I cruised around Montpelier, unexpectedly bumping into a fellow student working in the bike shop, and then talking with someone who I will definitely talk with in the future.

There were some people sitting outside of a restaurant that serves organic food so I approached them and explained who I was and what I was doing in hopes of finding someone I could interview for the blog. One of them happened to be Alec Hill, (read about him in the blog). It was very comforting to be able to find someone like him on the first day, let alone the first try. I continued on to the Restore in Barre, and then took a challenging dirt road to Brookfield.

I stayed with Ben Koren, a friend who I met in Alaska, and his parents. That night we attempted to watch a Woody Allen movie that put everyone to sleep. If I remembered what it was called I would not recommend it.

1 Response to “Vermont Part I”


  1. 1 tyler June 20, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    it’s a “creemee”


Leave a Reply

