Vermont Part II

When I awoke on the first morning of the trip I set the precedent of sleeping in and getting a late start to the day. Staying the morning at Ben’s house was more than worth it though. I had a chance to taste Curtis’s famous chili egg bake, talk with Ben about his compost, and spend time with Ben’s parents and his girlfriend Jocelyn. I took off and Ben rode with me for a half hour South before I headed West over the mountains to Middlebury. I went by way of the Middlebury gap, a notoriously long hill especially with a trailer.

About to go downhill

About to go downhill

Unknown to me there was another long climb which was quite the warm up to the gap, yet the two challenging ascents were worth every grunt because flying downhill on my bike is right up there with cleaning my ears with a q-tip. The next two hours were two of the most pleasant I have spent on a bike. Undoubtedly it helped knowing the hills were behind me, but mostly it was the stupefying colors cast by the sunset over the Adirondacks.

I was headed toward Dan and Judy Werner’s home in Cornwall. I connected with them through warmshowers.org, a couch surfing site for bike travelers. I turned off onto their road and eventually came upon their home, a beautiful retrofitted barn with a great view of the mountains.
After talking with Dan over some food (Judy happened to be away), I went to bed on one of the most comfortable beds I have slept on to date. Optimal mattress firmness and blanket thickness would not let me get out until 9:30am, when I went downstairs to find a note that said Dan was in town. That was the first time I was left alone in the home of a person I met the night before. It felt good, and put me in a good mood for the rest of the morning.
May 2009 166

1 Response to “Vermont Part II”


  1. 1 Colleen June 17, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Phil,
    just read a bit on your amazing adventure, it sounds incredible! Anyways, I wish you luck with everything and hope the road is good to you. If I am ever back in VT we will have to do some serious contra dancing.
    Always impressed,
    Colleen


Leave a Reply

