Vermont Part IV

Down to Brattleboro

Down to Brattleboro

A funny thing happened on the way to Art and Trish’s sugar bush. I was biking on the roads in the area around their home when I stumbled upon an interesting property with a large yard and a long red building. I walked inside to ask what it was, and found out it was Spring Lake Ranch (which was the name of the road I was on, but never put it together), a therapeutic community residence where, completely coincidentally, my friend, Liam Martin grew up because his parents worked there. I asked them if they knew the Martins. They said of course, and pointed me in the direction of their home. Liam was not there but I had a long chat with his parents, two of the nicest people I have met, and hope to see again soon.
At around six o’clock I biked back to Art’s house where I sat down to dinner with him and his family and enjoyed a delicious meal of ham and potatoes. I had spent the day in Shrewsbury instead of biking because I was going to ride in a car down to Brattleboro.
That morning while I was talking with Art over breakfast, one of his daughters came downstairs, and to everyone’s surprise we knew each other. We had met at a contra dance earlier in the month, and since it was already evening and she and her sister were going to the dance that night they offered me a ride.
Dan, Dan's tongue, and Meg

Dan, Dan's tongue, and Meg

We had a relaxing drive South listening to NPR, and it ended with me in downtown Brattleboro with nowhere to stay which I had to figure out before I went to the dance.
The first person I saw was a girl walking her dog, so I asked her if she knew of a place where it would be alright to set up a tent. She could not think of one, but after asking her fiancé Dan, they invited me to spend the night with them. Meg and Dan (and their dog Lucy) are the type of people I hope to meet. Friendly, generous, laid back, fun, I wished I had some more time to spend with them. They gave me watermelon and time to relax before I went to the dance.

0 Responses to “Vermont Part IV”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

